Empath Health Blog, Jim Andrews

Suncoast Hospice Director of Spiritual Care Jim Andrews

One of my favorite insights from the writings of Eckhart Tolle is his stages of “awakened doing.” They are:

1. Resistance

2. Acceptance

3. Enjoyment

4. Enthusiasm

These mental states characterize our inner feeling and approach to the activities and experiences that fill our days. When we resist or merely accept with resignation what is on our plates for the day, we are missing the opportunity to embrace and celebrate our work and our relationships.

Let’s all try an experiment today. It’s Monday morning, the beginning of a new week, full of promise and potential. Let’s approach our day with enthusiasm. Even the difficult or tedious parts of our day. Lean into them with gusto and enjoyment, and see what happens. It just might make all the difference!

Have a great week, everyone!